News Andrea Leadsom  arrives at 10 Downing Street as Britain's re-elected Prime Minister David Cameron names his new cabinet, in central London
Theresa May v Andrea Leadsom to be next British prime minister

Theresa May and Andrea Leadsom will battle it out to become the next British prime minister.

In the final ballot of UK Tory pary MPs, Mrs Theresa May won 199 votes with Mrs Andrea Leadsom winning 84 votes.

Justice Secretary Michael Gove was eliminated from the race to be the next Conservative leader after finishing last with the backing of just 46 MPs.

Mrs May and Mrs Leadsom will now be put to the Conservative Party membership for them to elect a new leader – and replacement for David Cameron in Number 10 – by September 9.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *